How I Remember the Adoption “Match”

My first recollection of “conversations” with Ginger was when she announced on SMO that she was pregnant and it wasn’t planned. Everyone knew that we were trying to adopt and wanted to play ‘matchmaker.’ We were both getting emails and PMs along with public postings. I finally had to ask everyone to please stop because it was way too early for that. G and I started chatting after that – we each had questions about the other’s perspective on things and yes, I did come out and pitch our profile to her. We met for dinner in August and just chatted and got to know each other. After that dinner I was pretty sure that Ginger wasn’t going to choose us. I don’t know why exactly, but for a long time I thought she was going to parent and then I thought that she had found someone ‘better’ as I knew she had been reading a lot of profiles online.

There were a few more emails back and forth over the next few months. Not really anything substantial (I have ALL the emails, BTW) until Sunday, February 17. Scott and I had spent the day walking around the outlets and eating dinner and we got home around 6:00 and there was an email from Ginger. It said “will you adopt this baby?” I can still remember the feeling seeing those words, but I can’t explain it. It was like a dream, but so real that it was scary. It was overwhelming and unbelievable all at the same time. In our fashion, we exchanged a few more emails in the next hour and then, finally, spoke on the phone.

The next 4 weeks are a blur. There was registering, ordering furniture, going to a dr appt, buying things left and right and mostly staying up all night thinking about being a Mommy. I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since February 16, 2008!

Cassidy was born at 10:50PM on Saturday, March 15, 2008. I will never forget the phone call “you have a baby.” The excitement, the awe, the fear, (the nausea – I had the flu!), the complete lack of knowledge – I loved every bit of it!!!

Leave a Reply

