Contracts

I received the first draft of the contract in my email today. It’s 57 pages.

I wasn’t supposed to send it to Ginger until after Scott and I read it and agreed with everything, but we’re in sort of a time crunch and I figured it was better for us all to be reading at the same time, so I sent it. She’ll likely finish reading it before we will.

Our attorney is very knowledgeable and is looking out for our best interests – as is his job. But I kept trying to explain that we already have a relationship with Ginger and we trust her. There were some things that the attorney wanted in the contract that seemed insulting and I just hope that I caught them all before he drafted it.

I don’t know how people do this with surrogates they’ve just met. We’ve known G for over a year. I’ve seen her in some tough situations and every time she has proven that she is trustworthy. And we intend to have a relationship for at least the next 18 years (likely longer!) so why would either of us jeopardize that? I know, I know, he’s the attorney and it’s his job. But we are the “parties” and we have to be comfortable with all the BS that goes along with this.

And how in the world am I going to get Scott to read 57 pages?

Leave a Reply

