1+1=???

Another baby. Another NEWBORN that doesn’t sleep and can’t tell me what’s wrong. Another child to be responsible for. Another child to love as much as I love Cassidy? How is that possible? These are all the thoughts that went through my head when I realized this was really happening.

I don’t know how I could love another child as much as I love Cass. I love my nieces and nephews. I love my friends’ kids. But nothing compares to how I feel about my daughter. And now I have to hope that I will feel that way about another baby.

Apparently this is a common thought process when planning for a second child. Everyone that I’ve mentioned it to nods like they understand. My friends that have already done it say that as soon as the second baby is born all doubt is gone. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

3 Comments »

  1. I can’t wait to know what that feels like!!!! I hope this round is the first and last that your precious second child is on their way.

  2. kari Said:

    That is THE most common thought for parents looking at adding to their family. Your heart just opens doubles in size, every seen the grinch?? I always picture it like that, when his heart grows 3 sizes, lol You find the love and surprisingly you have the same amount for the new one, while still loving the 1st one the same. You will soon see!!

  3. Debi K Said:

    Jess, I was pregnant with my son when my daughter was 6 years old! She was old enough to realize what was happening and was expressing her own concerns about becomming a big sister. So I told her I had concerns too and that I was worried that I wouldn’t love her little brother as much as I love her… and her response doesn’t get any simpler or pure… “mom, you have two sides of your heart, one for each of us”. Children’s thought processes are amazing. You’ll love the new baby just as much as you love Cass, only in a different way. You’ll be able to appreciate the different stages your children are at too. It’ll be fine. I promise!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

