Ultrasound (and accompanying craziness)

First let me say I’m sure trains are wonderful for some people. I’m sure there are people who like not having to drive and just sitting back for 5 hours and arriving at their destination. Apparently, I am not one of those people. Although it was enlightening to read FB and SMO for 5 hours on the train, I would rather be driving. Coming and going as I please on my own schedule instead of Amtrak’s. Which, by the way, is NEVER on time! Both trains were about 45 minutes late. And they are not conveniently scheduled, either.

Anyway, I had a great time with Kylene and the kids. We had our ultrasound this morning and the good news is there is at least 1 healthy bean growing (NN: Mocha). The not-as-good news is that the 2nd sac looks significantly smaller and may not make it. We won’t know until next week. By then it should have a heartbeat (NN if it “sticks” around: Caramel).

1st ultrasound 7/16/10

Unfortunately, if #2 does start to “resolve” K could have bleeding ranging from occasional brown spotting to full fledged looks-like-a-miscarriage bleeding. In either case we’ll have to get scheduled for a stat u/s and make sure that Mocha is ok. Other than that, no complications. K feels good – a little tired and sweaty (sorry, couldn’t help it!) but no other symptoms.

On a side note, I sat next to a college freshman going home from orientation tonight. It made me remember my college orientation – I actually remember it quite vividly. She was a really sweet girl, a twin, and versed in biology and embryos/fetuses. What are the odds? And what are the odds that she knows a surro friend’s family who lives in Baltimore.  Crazy stuff I tell you!

Leave a Reply

